Rejecting candidates

When you decide you will not be moving forward with a specific candidate, you can either reject them or archive them.

"Archive" will move the candidate from the "All" category into the "Archived" category.

"Reject" will:

1. Move the candidate from the "All" category into the "Archived" category

2. Add a tag "Rejected" to the candidate that will function as a custom filter

3. Allow you to send a personalized rejection email to the candidate

Rejection emails

You can notify candidates they will not be moving forward in the hiring process by sending them a personalized email straight from the Toggl Hire app.

The email looks like a personalized email, sent from the user's email address. You have full control of the content of the email and you'll be able to save rejection email templates inside your Toggl Hire account.

If you'd like to test it out first, you can take the test and later reject yourself to receive the email.




How do I send the rejection email?

1. Click on the "Reject" button on the candidate view

2. An email window will open up with the candidate's email prefilled and a standard message

3. You can modify the body of the email

4. If you'd like to save the email as a template, you can do so under "Manage templates"

5. If you have a previously saved template you'd like to use, you can choose it under "Manage my templates"

6. Click "Send and Reject"

What will happen after I click on "Send and Reject"?

The candidate will receive the email. In Toggl Hire, we will add a tag "Rejected" to the candidate and this will appear as a custom filter on the lefthand side of the screen.

The candidate will be moved out from the "All" category into the "Rejected" category

When will the rejection email be sent?

You can send the rejection email at any stage of the hiring process. You can trigger it manually by choosing "Send and Reject"

Can I reject a candidate but not send them a rejection email?

Yes. If you choose "Skip email & reject", the candidate won't get any notifications about their status being changed.


In Toggl Hire, the tag "Rejected" is still added to the candidate and this will appear as a custom filter on the lefthand side of the screen.

The candidate will be moved out from the "All" category into the "Rejected" category

Can I reject candidates in bulk?

Yes. To reject candidates in bulk, select the candidate that you would like to reject > click on the dropdown menu > select 'Reject'.



Can I undo "Reject"?

Yes, you can restore a candidate after you have rejected them. However, if you sent them a rejection email it's not possible to recall the email.

To restore a candidate:

1. Look up the candidate either under tags (Rejected) or "Rejected" category

2. Click on "Restore"

3. This will delete the tag "Rejected" and move the candidate from the "Rejected" category into "All" and any categories they were in prior to rejection.


Have any further questions? Feel free to reach us to our support via chat or email.

Did this answer your question?